AAU – USA MEN'S BASKETBALL NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP AWARDS

HENSHEL AWARD "TEAM CHAMPION" AWARD WINNERS

The Colonel Harry D. Henshel Award was established in memory of Colonel Henshel, who was devoted to the sport of basketball. It is a trophy presented annually to the winning team in the Men's AAU National Basketball Championship. It was first awarded in 1963.

• ARNIE AIZSTRAUTS "TEAM SPORTSMANSHIP" AWARD WINNERS

The Arnie Aizstrauts Team Sportsmanship Award was established in 1985 memory of Arnie Aizstrauts, a former U.S. Olympic Basketball Committee member, Regional AAU Chairman, AAU Basketball Committee member, and a strong, dedicated, and inspirational figure long associated with AAU Basketball.

• WILLARD GREIM "DISTINGUISHED SERVICE" AWARD WINNERS

The Willard Greim Award was established to recognize distinguished service to AAU Basketball. Mr. Greim served as President of the AAU from 1944-46 and he was the only American ever to hold the President's office of FIBA (International Amateur Basketball Federation) and was elected to that post three times and served from 1948 until 1960.

LOUIS G. WILKE MEMORIAL "MOST VALUABLE PLAYER" AWARD WINNERS

In 1962, the Louis G. Wilke Memorial Award, in memory of a former AAU President and a long time figure in amateur basketball in both this county and in the world governing body, the International Amateur Basketball Federation (FIBA), was set up as the official trophy for the Most Valuable Player of the national AAU Tournament. Listed below are the men who have been selected Most Valuable Player in the National Championships. It was first awarded in 1954.

• HERBERT JOSEPH MOLS "BEST DEFENSIVE PLAYER" AWARD

In 1988, the Men's Basketball Committee established the Herbert Joseph Mols Award in his honor to recognize his many years of service and contributions to AAU Men's Basketball. He served as President and perpetual Secretary of the Niagara Association of the AAU; as the manager of the United States team that participated in the 1971 Pan Am games; as manager of the 1972 United States Olympic Team and the 1974 team that participated in the World Championships. He was a long-standing member of the AAU Men's Basketball Committee and was also considered the "father of the Empire State Games." The award will be awarded to a participant in the AAU National Men's Championship voted as the best defensive player.